2015 US Marshals Service Commemorative Coins

by US Coins Today on April 7, 2012

in Coin Information

US Marshals Service

As expected, theĀ US Marshals Service 225th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Act has became law. President Obama signed his name to the legislation, numbered H.R. 886, on Monday, April 2, 2012, and it became Public Law 112-104.

Beginning in 2015, the Secretary of the Treasury is now required to mint up to 1.35 million commemorative coins in honor of the 225th anniversary of the establishment of the Nation's first Federal law enforcement agency, the US Marshals Service.

Authorized mintages include 100,000 $5 gold, 500,000 $1 silver and 750,000 50c clad commemorative coins struck with dates of the Service's anniversary years' -- 1789 and 2014, and the year of minting -- 2015. Additional inscriptions will include the words LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and E PLURIUBS UNUM.

The United States Mint will produce the coins to typical commemorative specifications. Each $5 gold coin will weigh 8.359 grams, have a diameter of 0.85 inches and a composition of 90% gold and 10% silver. The silver dollars will be composed of 90% silver and 10% alloy, weigh 26.73 grams and have a diameter of 1.5 inches. Each half dollar will weigh 11.34 grams, have a diameter of 1.205 inches and have the same clad composition as the Kennedy half dollar.

Designs of the coins will showcase themes that are emblematic of the US Marshals Service and its 225 years of history and achievements. The obverse or "heads side" of both the gold and silver coins will have an image of the United States Marshals Service Star, also known as "America's Star," as these design requirements are specifically stated within the Act.

Based on denomination, sales of each coin will include surcharges of either $35, $10 or $3. The first $5 million collected will go to the United States Marshals Museum. Amounts above will be split between the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children, the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association Foundation, and the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: